It’s been a trip

Hi all,

I was originally going to keep blogging about what I’ve been doing with Daisy, and the last time I had mentioned the Novice Trick Dog title was in April. On May 5th, Daisy earned her TKN. I had been going to keep you folks updated on what happened, but I had a complication happen with surgery that caused me to end up back in surgery with an emergency surgery.

So I have not been online to continue writing about the things that have been going on with Daisy and I.  Hopefully we are about to remedy that.

After she achieved her Trick Dog novice title, I enrolled her in a beginning obedience class that was supposed to start on June 19th. We then ended up having the incident happen with the surgery complication, and I now have to have a family member handling Daisy for class.

That’s been okay. She has been doing beautifully with my family member in class, and at the beginning of this last month, I sent off her first competition entry for the event called Fast Cat.

If all goes as I hope, we will be competing in our first fast cat trial on August 31st.

By the beginning of August, Daisy will have completed the akc  star puppy program. I had always wanted to take at least one dog through the STAR puppy program because I’d never done it before. My family member has been trying to help me as well with taking Daisy for two 20 minute walks a day as part of the program.

Off on a walk

After we complete our STAR puppy, I will have the instructor assist me in choosing what class to start next. Right now, Daisy and I have been working off leash in the house on her rear-end awareness and being able to pivot at heel.

I think that about wraps up what we’ve been up to. I will include a link to Daisy’s YouTube page because we have been posting some videos as she’s been working on things with her training on her YouTube page.

Until next time,

Emily and McLaughlin’s Darling Daisy TKN

Leave a comment